Medbuy announces new appointments within its 2015-2016 Board of Directors

Author: SuperUser Account/Thursday, August 27, 2015/Categories: Uncategorized

Rate this article:
Medbuy has made several new appointments to its Board of Directors, which were approved by our Shareholders at the Annual General Meeting on June 17. Changes to the Board size and complement have been made as a result of the Board renewal process undertaken earlier this year to ensure Medbuy is equipped for continued success and growth.
We are pleased to announce the following appointments to the 2015-2016 Board of Directors:
Margaret Bawden, Independent Board Member
Prior to joining the Ontario Government in 2008 as Director of Supply Chain Transformation, Margaret Bawden worked for global leaders Procter & Gamble, A.T. Kearney, Accenture and Hewlett Packard, building and delivering supply chain and financial services strategy solutions.  She currently sits on the board of the International Federation of Purchasing and Supply Management Global Standards. 
Sarah Chow, Independent Board Member
Sarah Chow is Chair of the Board, and served as a Director of Medbuy Corporation from 2011-2014, as a representative of St. Michael’s Hospital. Sarah is a Chartered Accountant with expertise in public accounting and healthcare. For nearly 12 years, she was the Vice President, Finance and Chief Financial Officer for St. Michael's Hospital in Toronto. In her tenure, Sarah provided financial management, oversaw change management and was responsible for initiating improvements to both financial and clinical operating processes. 
Renato Descenza, EVP, Enterprise & Innovation, Hamilton Health Sciences 
Renato Descenza has over 25 years of extensive experience in the public and private sectors. He has a proven track record of identifying and delivering sustainable revenue generating initiatives, and leading transformational activities which enhance quality, efficiency, and employee and customer satisfaction.
Before joining HHS, Renato was the President and CEO of Invest Toronto, and has held leadership positions with Infrastructure Ontario, Bell Canada, AT&T Canada and General Motors of Canada. 
David Dumont, VP Supply Chain and Laundry Services, FacilicorpNB 
In addition to his current role within FacilicorpNB, David Dumont served as its VP of Human Resources when it was established in 2008. Prior to joining FacilicorpNB, David was Dean for the School of Business with the New Brunswick Community College, where he led organizational change within the college system. David has over 20 years of public service experience with the Province of New Brunswick in a variety of roles within different Departments.  
Fred Horne, Independent Board Member
Fred Horne served as Alberta’s Minister of Health from 2011-2014. A former health policy consultant with over thirty years’ experience in health policy development, health system design and transformation, and stakeholder engagement, Fred has worked with provincial governments, local health authorities, and national and international research and stakeholder organizations. Fred also served as Chair of the Provincial and Territorial Ministers of Health, and as co-lead of the Council of the Federation’s Health Care Innovation Working Group.
Joe Pilon, VP & COO, Health Sciences North
Joe Pilon is a nurse with close to 25 years’ experience as a senior executive in health care.  As Chief operating Officer at HSN for the last 10 years, Joe has led a number of key initiatives including the building and occupancy of its new facility, and the development of a new operating framework for the organization that embraces the lean management systems.
Gavin Webb, VP & CFO, Guelph General Hospital 
Gavin Webb has been with the GGH since 2000. As VP and CFO of Guelph General Hospital, Gavin’s portfolio includes Finance, Materials Management, Information Management, Decision Support, and Clinical Information Services. 
Matthew Speak, CFO, Brant Community Healthcare System (BCHS) 
Prior to his current role at BCHS, Matt Speak served as Director of Supply Chain and Support Services for the organization, and was Program/Project Manager at the Ontario Hospital Association (OHA). In addition to his work within the healthcare sector, Matt held various leadership and management positions within large private sector corporations, including Grant Forest Products. Matt was recently appointed as Chair of the Linen Strategic Advisory Committee at Mohawk Shared Services, one of Ontario’s largest healthcare linen services providers. 
We would like to thank outgoing Board Members Shawn Gilhuly, Gordon Gilman and Andrée Robichaud for their significant contributions to Medbuy.  
Natalie Hovey is the new Secretary/Treasurer of the Board, and Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee. Angela Zanagari remains as Vice-Chair of the Board, and Chair of the Governance and Nominating Committee. Michel Leger, an independent Board Representative from New Brunswick, continues as Chair of the R.E.D. Committee. 
Board Chair Sarah Chow is pleased to share Medbuy’s new Board with our Members.  “Each of our newly appointed Directors brings a unique set of skills and expertise to the table, which will be a source of strength for us as we work to meet the evolving needs of today’s healthcare environment" stated Ms. Chow. "Our Board not only provides Medbuy with sound governance; it also gives Members a voice at the table as we focus on delivering superior service to the national healthcare community.” 
For a full list of our 2015/16 Board of Directors, click here.

Number of views (3960)/Comments (0)